Media Work 2030

An interdisciplinary approach to media work in the age of digital disruption. Please visit the project website here.

The Media Work 2030 project studies media work and media professionals as actors in the digital media environment. The starting point in the project is that digital disruption is not only a challenge for media organisations but also for individual media workers. The project brings together several research traditions (media and communication studies, social and public policy research, sociology, psychology, and brain research) in a unique, interdisciplinary way.

The project investigates what kind of permanence and stability are provided in media work by societal and organisational practices, structures and policies; how media workers are able to manage their digitalised communication processes, boundaries, and new tasks; and how personality features (e.g. error orientation, resilience traits) are associated with media workers’ wellbeing.

Media work serves as a useful tool for integrating different media logics and creating a more coherent framework that applies to the media industry as a whole, instead of seeking to define which factors and practices characterise each individual media form and media profession. Previously, the study of media work has been quite strictly limited to the field of media and communication studies. Interdisciplinary attempts such as this project, which approach media work collectively from different disciplinary perspectives, have been almost non-existent.

The research is funded by the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation for the years 2019-2021.

Sites of Research
University of Jyväskylä, Dept. of Language and Communication Studies
University of Jyväskylä, Dept. of Psychology
Tampere University, Work Research Centre, Faculty of Social Sciences

Principal Investigator (PI): Professor Mikko Villi

Sub-project PIs:
Director, University Researcher, Tiina Parviainen, University of Jyväskylä
Research Director, Academy of Finland Research Fellow, Mia Tammelin, Tampere University

CoCoDigi members involved in the project:
Mikko Villi
Anu Sivunen
Minna Markkanen
Salla Laaksonen

Get to know the research team.

The Scientific Advisory Board of the project comprises of six members: Prof. Mark Deuze (University of Amsterdam), Prof. Ariane Ollier-Malaterre (Université du Québec à Montréal, CA), Prof. Robert Picard (University of Oxford, Yale University), Prof. Lucy Küng (University of Oslo, University of Oxford), Prof. Tuomo Alasoini (Finnish Institute of Occupational Health), and Prof. Lauri Parkkonen (Aalto University).